Aussie Hoops – Term 3 2015

Aussie Hoops logoCMBC will be running a Term 3 2015  Aussie Hoops program for children aged 6-10 years.


1ST SESSION FREEThe program is a 9 week program with 50 minute sessions each week with one introductory free session.

Our current program is currently run at:

Lloyd Street Primary School Gym
Summerhill Avenue, East Malvern, Vic 3145
Sunday 10:00am

commencing Sunday 9 August 2015 

If you are interested in joining our upcoming Aussie Hoops program, please click here to register on-line.



Coaches Course

Basketball Victoria is delighted to be able to offer a new and exciting Club Coaching Course. The Club Coaching Course replaces the former Level 1 Course that was offered here in Victoria and is suitable for Coaches of all levels, looking to obtain a formal accreditation.

The Club Coaching Course is 7 hours in duration, broken down into 1 hour of online training and 6 hours of practical training, which will be facilitated by a Basketball Victoria presenter.

The online training component of the course is undertaken first and once completed, the practical session will be arranged and a date and time to suit.

 The total cost of the course is $150 per participant and is inclusive of all resources and materials.

To register for the course, follow the link below:


 Once registered, coaches will be able to access the online training component and download the ‘Coaching Made Easy’ resources. All instructions as to how and when these resources will be made available are detailed as part of the registration process.

 All coaches who have successfully completed the Club Coaching Course will be awarded with a Club Level Coaching Accreditation.

 All coaches who have held their Club Coaching Accreditation for a minimum of 12 months will become eligible to undertake an Association Coaching Course.

 For more information, please contact Rob Coulter on 9837-8000 or

Waverley Door Entry Fee Increase as at 01/07/2015




Waverley Basketball would like to advise all members that as of July 1, 2015, the entry cost for our Junior Competition will increase to $2.50.

WBA has not increased the entry fees for Junior Competition since the year 2000. In the 15 years since our last increase, referee expenses and other overheads have increased by 62%.

With this increase, Waverley Basketball will now fall in line with the majority of associations in Metropolitan Melbourne who charge $2.50, and in some cases, $3.00 for their Junior Competition.

‘Skills, Drills & Special Plays’ Coaching Clinic

6d0f2e92c1Trevor Gleeson ‘Skills, Drills & Special Plays’ Coaching Clinic

Date: Monday, 25th May

Time: 7.00pm – 8.30pm

Location: Box Hill Senior Secondary College, Dunloe Ave, Mont Albert Nth

Parking in top car park off Dunloe Ave (next to the oval). *No parking on Melrose St.

Cost: $10 payable on the night

 Online registration is available at

Shooting Camps

July holidays 2015Ian Stacker conducts shooting camps each school holiday period and has worked with players of all age groups and experience levels.

Camps have a maximum of 20 players and all players receive video analysis of their shooting technique.

Camps are held at Templestowe College between 10am – 3pm

Register at

Winter 2015 Competition

7024018-basketball-courtThe Winter 2015 Junior Domestic season tips off this week.

Grading fixtures for each competition are now available in the ‘Junior Domestic’ section of the Waverley website.

Please note that all Saturday fixtures are subject to change until close of business on Wednesday, April 15. Clubs will be notified once fixtures have been confirmed.

Please be aware that there are no games on ANZAC Day, Saturday April 25. Games on Sunday April 26 will still be on as listed on fixtures.

Just a reminder:

  1. Register on-line before your first game by taking the following link:
    1. Existing Member  
    2. New Member 
  1. If you require a uniform or training singlet, you can place your order and pay on-line by taking the following link:

Basketball in Victoria – Soaring to New Heights

basketball vicGreat article from basketball Victoria on the growth of Basketball in Victoria

It i s8:00am on a Saturday morning, you enter any basketball stadium in suburban Melbourne or regional Victoria and the ‘sights and sounds’ are all too familiar.

 Basketball venues are a hive of activity as carloads of kids stream through the front doors; the squeak of shoes and bounce of the ball on the courts is drowned out by the buzz of the scoreboard and the referees blowing their whistles to get the game underway. There are kids in every corner of the stadium and the steady flow of foot traffic continues throughout the morning, spreading across the afternoon and does not ease until well into the evening.

Click here to read full article

Mastermind Coach Seminar

Basketball Victoria is thrilled to be able to team up with Aus Elite Pty. Ltd. to present the 2015 Mastermind Coaching Seminar.

This interactive and insightful seminar will feature on-court demonstrations and tuition from some of Australia’s biggest basketball names. Coaches will be treated to an all-star presenting line-up, including Dean Vickerman (2015 NBL Championship winning Coach with the New Zealand Breakers), Brendan Joyce (current Opals Head Coach), Adam Caporn (CoE Head Coach and U19 National Men’s Head Coach), Trevor Gleeson (Perth Wildcats Head Coach) and Andrew Gaze (member of the FIBA Hall of Fame and five time Olympian), plus many more…

The Mastermind Coaching Seminar will be held at the State Basketball Centre on Friday 10th April and at the Nunawading Basketball Stadium on Saturday 11th April. Early-bird tickets are on sale until the 27th March so get in quick to take advantage of the special rate.

For more details, and to register, visit

Finals schedules and qualification lists

18324045-gold-trophy-cup-basketball-on-a-white-backgroundThe latest qualification lists are now published.
Please confirm your players eligibility for finals

The finals schedule has also been published although late changes may still occur

New WBA domestic club clearance rules

new-rulesWBA has introduced a new rule regarding domestic clearances, which will be very important as clubs begin to put their teams together for next season.

“To maintain the integrity of the competition, clubs will be granted permission to accept a maximum of two (2) players into any one team who have cleared from another club after having played with that club in the previous season.”

Players moving clubs will still be required to complete a clearance before they can be registered with their new club.